Projects

Enabling shared decision making in multiple sclerosis treatment
Proposal 2014. Funding (Extrastiftelsen – MS-forbundet) 3 years PhD student. Start 2015.
Status: Jenny Nordfalk, consultant neurologist, recruited as candidate. Data for descriptive and experimental study collected. Analysis phase initiated.
Contact: Pål Gulbrandsen (pal.gulbrandsen@medisin.uio.no)

Person centered communication with older persons in need of healthcare care – Development of a research based education platform
Proposal 2012. Funding (Norwegian Research Council) 3 years PhD student. Start June 2013.
Status: PhD candidate Linda Hafskjold recruited. Data Collection finished.
Contact: Hilde Eide mailto:Hilde.Eide@hibu.no

Clinical encounter communication between specialist health service professionals and ethnic minority patients
Proposal 2011. Funding (Helse Sør-Øst) 50% 3 years postdoctoral student. Start March 2012.
Status: Several published papers. 2 in pipeline. Finished.
Contact: Jennifer Gerwing (jjg@uvic.ca), Pål Gulbrandsen (pal.gulbrandsen@medisin.uio.no)

Meeting migrants in health care
Proposal 2010. Funding (Norwegian Research Council) two 3 years PhD students. Start September 2011.
Status: Ten conference presentations. Four paper published, twopapers in pipeline.
Contact: Pål Gulbrandsen (pal.gulbrandsen@medisin.uio.no), Anne Marie Landm ark Dalby (anne.marie.landmark.dalby@ahus.no), Erik Skjeggestad (erik.skjeggestad@ahus.no)

Verona Coding of Emotional Sequences (VR-CoDES)  studies
Several papers published. Work in several samples in progress. Contact: Arnstein Finset (arnstein.finset@medisin.uio.no).

Clinical effects of clinician communication behaviour
Proposal 2009. Funding (Helse Sør-Øst) 3 years PhD student. Start June 2010.
Status: One paper published, one submitted, one in pipeline. Several conference presentations.
Contact: Pål Gulbrandsen (pal.gulbrandsen@medisin.uio.no), Eirik H. Ofstad (eirikofstad@gmail.com)

The effect of the “Four Habits” communication skills training programme on how physicians respond to patients’ cues and concerns
Proposal 2008. Funding (Helse Sør-Øst, Akershus University Hospital) 1 ½ years postdoctoral student. Performed Jan 2009-July 2010.
Status: Two articles, first author Trond Mjaaland.
Contact: Pål Gulbrandsen (pal.gulbrandsen@medisin.uio.no)

User participation in decision making processes regarding medical treatment for cancer patients in a palliative stage.
Contact Ellen Kristvik (ellen.kristvik@ahus.no)

Better clinical communication in hospitals
Proposal 2006. Funding (Helse Sør-Øst) 3 years PhD student. Performed Feb 2007-Oct 2011.
Generated a data set that is still subject of several projects.
Status: Four articles, first author Bård Fossli Jensen. Several conference presentations.
Contact: Pål Gulbrandsen (pal.gulbrandsen@medisin.uio.no)

Survivors of childhood cancer: Long-term needs for information and health care services
Postdoctoral study. Contact Hanne C. Lie (h.c.lie@medisin.uio.no)

Communication skills training as mental health intervention in general practice.
PhD study. Contact Tonje Stensrud (t.l.stensrud@medisin.uio.no)

Communication between young patients newly diagnosed with cancer and health care workers.
Phd study. Contact Live Korsvold (live.korsvold@medisin.uio.no)

With death as explicit or implicit theme – video analysis of hospital physician-patient dialogues.
Contact Sissel Steihaug (sissel@steihaug.net)

Coping and health among young cancer survivors. patient behavior, parental reactions and communication with health care.
PhD study (2010-2014). Contact Anneli Mellblom (anneli.mellblom@medisin.uio.no)

A cultural taboo? The muted issue of alcohol abuse.
Postdoctoral study. Contact Anne Werner (anne.werner@ahus.no)

Empathy and positive reappraisal in clinical communication: Basic and clinical aspects.
Student project. Contact Arnstein Finset (arnstein.finset@medisin.uio.no).

Development and execution of a wide range of communication skills training programs in academic and business contexts.
Contact Trond Mjaaland (trond@mjaabraa.no)